Massachusetts North Shore Democrats
Pier at Fisherman's Beach
Newburyport Democratic City Committee

Newburyport DCC

City of Newburyport

Newburyport has a population of 18,289 (2020 census). The Mayor is the Chief Executive Officer of the City. The City’s legislative function resides with the Gloucester City Council, consisting of eleven members: five Councillors At-Large, elected by the voters of the City; and six Ward Councillors, one elected by the voters of each of the six City wards.

Massachusetts Officeholders
Elected in Districts That Include Newburyport

U.S. House of Representatives
Seth W. Moulton (D)

Sixth Congressional District

Salem, Mass. Office:

21 Front Street
Salem, MA 01970
Phone: (978) 531-1669
Fax: (978) 224-2270

Washington, D.C. Office:

1127 Longworth
House Office Building
Washington, DC 20515
Phone: (202) 225-8020
Fax: (202) 225-5915

Web site

Massachusetts Legislature

The Massachusetts Legislature, also known as the General Court, is comprised of a Senate with 40 elected members and a House of Representatives with 160 elected members.

Massachusetts Senate
Bruce E. Tarr (R)

District: First Essex and Middlesex—Consisting of the cities of Gloucester and Newburyport and the towns of Boxford, Essex, Georgetown, Groveland, Hamilton, Ipswich, Manchester-by-the-Sea, Middleton, Newbury, North Andover, Precincts 5A, 7, 8, Rockport, Rowley, Salisbury, Topsfield, Wenham and West Newbury in the county of Essex; and the town of North Reading in the county of Middlesex.


State House
24 Beacon St.
Room 308
Boston, MA, 02133
Phone: (617) 722-1600
Fax: (617) 722-1310

State House Office

Massachusetts House of Representatives
Dawne Shand (D)

District: 1st Essex—Consisting of Precincts 2, 3, 4, and 5, of the city of Amesbury, the town of Merrimac, the city of Newburyport, the town of Salisbury, all in the county of Essex.


State House
24 Beacon St.
Room B2
Boston, MA, 02133
Phone: (617) 722-2000 x6317

State House Office

Governor’s Council
Eileen Duff (D)

Fifth Councillor District


8 Barberry Heights Road
Gloucester, MA 01930
GC: 617-725-4015, ext. 5
Bus: 978-927-8700
Fax: 617-727-6610

Web site

District Attorney
Paul F. Tucker (D)

District: Eastern (Essex County)

10 Federal Street
5th Floor
Salem, MA 01970
Main Office (978) 745-6610
TTY (867) 741-3163

Web site

County Sheriff's Department
Kevin Coppinger (D)

District: Essex County

Essex County Sheriff's Department Headquarters
20 Manning Ave.
Middleton, MA. 01949

Phone: 978-750-1900

Essex County Sheriff’s Department

Register of Deeds
John L. O’Brien (D)

District: Essex Southern

Phone: (978) 542-1700

Southern Essex District Registry of Deeds