Massachusetts North Shore Democrats
Marblehead Harbor, Marblehead, Massachusetts.
Marblehead Democratic Town Committee

Marblehead DTC

Town of Marblehead

Marblehead has a population of 20,441 (2020 census). It is governed by an Open Town Meeting and a Select Board with 5 members. The Select Board Office includes the Town Administrator and is responsible for overseeing the day-to-day operation of town departments and appointed positions under the jurisdiction of the Select Board. The Town Administrator, who is appointed by the Select Board and who works under the direction of the Select Board, is responsible for the day-to-day operation and oversight of town departments and appointed positions under the jurisdiction of the Select Board.

With an Open Town Meeting, all registered voters of the Town are eligible to participate. Residents who attend Town Meeting, which convenes annually on the first Monday in May and continues on successive nights until all business is concluded, approve department budgets, purchases of equipment, the addition of Town personnel, changes to the Town's bylaws, the purchase and disposal of property and bond issues for large purchases or projects.

The Town Moderator presides and regulates the proceedings, decides all questions of order, and makes public declaration of all votes at the Annual Town Meeting and any Special Town Meeting which may be called. In addition, at the request of Town Meeting, the Moderator will appoint residents to special committees. The Town Moderator is elected annually.

Elected officials with 1-year terms are elected annually. Other officials are elected with staggered terms, so not all members are elected at the same time. Elected officials include:

  • Select Board: 5 members, 1 year term
  • Moderator: 1-year term
  • Assessors: 3 members, 3 year term
  • Cemetery Commission: 3 members, 3 year term
  • Board of Health: 3 members, 3 year term
  • Abbot Public Library Trustees: 5 members, 3 year term
  • Housing Authority: 5 members (4 elected by the town and 1 appointed by the Governor), 5 year term
  • Municipal Light Commission: 5 members, 3 year term
  • Planning Board: 5 members, 3 year term
  • Recreation and Park Commission: 5 members, 1 year term
  • School Committee: 5 members, 3 year term
  • Water & Sewer Commission: 5 members, 3 year term
  • Town Clerk: 3 year Term
Massachusetts Officeholders
Elected in Districts That Include Marblehead
U.S. House of Representatives
Seth W. Moulton (D)

Sixth Congressional District

Salem, Mass. Office:

21 Front Street
Salem, MA 01970
Phone: (978) 531-1669
Fax: (978) 224-2270

Washington, D.C. Office:

1127 Longworth
House Office Building
Washington, DC 20515
Phone: (202) 225-8020
Fax: (202) 225-5915

Web site

Massachusetts Legislature

The Massachusetts Legislature, also known as the General Court, is comprised of a Senate with 40 elected members and a House of Representatives with 160 elected members.

Massachusetts Senate
Brendan P. Crighton (D)

District: Third Essex—Lynn, Lynnfield, Marblehead, Nahant, Saugus, Swampscott.


State House
24 Beacon St.
Room 109-C
Boston, MA, 02133
Phone: (617) 722-1350

State House Office

Massachusetts House of Representatives
Jennifer Armini (D)

District: 8th Essex—Consisting of Ward 3 Precinct 4 and Ward 4 Precinct 3A, 4, of the city of Lynn, and the towns of Marblehead and Swampscott, all in the county of Essex.


State House
24 Beacon St.
Room 21
Boston, MA, 02133

Phone: (617) 722-2140

State House Office | Newsletter Sign-Up
Governor’s Council
Terrence W. Kennedy (D)

District: Sixth Councillor—Boston (specified wards & precincts), Cambridge (specified wards & precincts), Chelsea, Everett, Lynn, Lynnfield, Malden, Marblehead, Medford, Melrose, Nahant, Reading, Revere, Saugus, Somerville, Stoneham, Swampscott, Wakefield, Winchester, Winthrop.


3 Stafford Road
Lynnfield, MA 01940
GC: 617-725-4015, ext. 6
Bus: 617-387-9809
Fax: 617-727-6610

Web site

District Attorney
Paul F. Tucker (D)

District: Eastern (Essex County): Amesbury, Andover, Beverly, Boxford, Danvers, Essex, Georgetown, Gloucester, Groveland, Hamilton, Haverhill, Ipswich, Lawrence, Lynn, Lynnfield, Manchester-by-the-Sea, Marblehead, Merrimac, Methuen, Middleton, Nahant, Newbury, Newburyport, North Andover, Peabody, Rockport, Rowley, Salem, Salisbury, Saugus, Swampscott, Topsfield, Wenham, West Newbury.

10 Federal Street
5th Floor
Salem, MA 01970
Main Office (978) 745-6610
TTY (867) 741-3163

Web site

County Sheriff's Department
Kevin Coppinger (D)

District: Essex County

Essex County Sheriff's Department Headquarters
20 Manning Ave.
Middleton, MA. 01949

Phone: 978-750-1900

Essex County Sheriff’s Department

Register of Deeds
John L. O’Brien (D)

District: Essex Southern

Phone: (978) 542-1700

Southern Essex District Registry of Deeds